Five things to see or do “before it’s too late”

Standard

I know I’m still young. I’m only seventeen and will have plenty of time to explore the world and such after I graduate high school. However, there are times when the realization that life is short and unpredictable hits me like a brick, and the following anxiety attack can similarly leave me gasping for air. During these eye-opening revelations, I look back at my life and can see the dazzling trail of emptiness and nonsense that my journey through time has left strewn behind. Sure, I’ve gone on family vacations and experienced the awkwardness and fulfillment of a first job, but I’ve never done or gone anywhere that extreme. I haven’t seen any of the world’s wonders beyond my own backyard. I’ve never done anything crazy. Before my life story inevitably comes to an end, I want to be able to fill its chapters with worthwhile adventures.

Write a Novel

Ever since I was little and able to read, I have always wanted to write my own book. Not only did the possibility of becoming famous with a bestseller intrigue me, but the idea that a real person- other than my mom, who is kind of obligated- might read my novel and be a fan of its world and characters, of its plot twists and agonizing cliff hangers, fascinated me. Being heavily involved in multiple fandoms and able to truthfully say that the fandom life is the only life for me, the mere thought that one day my book could have its own fandom, with all the craziness and devotion that comes attached, simply baffles me. My one goal before I die is that I’ll be able to leave a legacy behind.

Get a Tattoo

My mom would freak out, it would hurt like hell, but one day I want to get a tattoo. Not now or anytime soon, but eventually I want the privilege to share the joy or stupidity of getting a tattoo. I am probably the least extreme person you could ever meet, but the idea of taking a risk and trying a new experience excites me. The tattoo would probably be something geeky like a Doctor Who quote, but it’d still be a great story to tell my hypothetical future children. Or maybe it’d be better if I left that chapter of my life out of their bedtime stories.

A First Kiss

One thing that might seem a bit odd to some people is the fact that I’ve never had a boyfriend, or even gone on a date before. A lot of teenagers my age have already had multiple drama-filled relationships and story-worthy “first dates,” but I’m the odd one out. For the most part, I’m fine with this fact. I’m only seventeen, and I “don’t need no man” to be happy. The truth remains, however, that I’ve never experienced the weirdness of a first kiss, and I hope this can be changed before it’s too late and I die alone, an old maid with twenty-one cats.

Go to London- Again

Okay, so I may have lied when I said I haven’t really gone anywhere special. In 2011, I was able to fly to London. The only reason I tend to not count this trip is because I wasn’t there for me, not completely. I got the opportunity to travel to London, full expenses paid, through a babysitting gig. There are two adorable blond toddlers that I often babysat, and their uncle was getting married- in London. I know, I’m jealous too, but to be fair, his fiance was British. Anyway, long story short, I was hired to help watch over the kids during the week of the wedding. While still a bunch of fun, I look forward to revisiting London without having to worry about my charges getting hit by a car.

See the Bermuda Triangle

A lot of conspiracy surrounds the mystery of the Bermuda Triangle, stories of ships and planes vanishing without a trace being the most popular. Nonetheless, I have always yearned to visit the Bermuda Triangle, even if I have to become one of the mysteries. Some people like to say how they’d prefer to die; I generally believe vanishing at the Bermuda Triangle would be an amazing way to go- talk about a legacy! I chose to write this one last because it has the high probability of being the last thing I ever do. Which, honestly, is kind of awesome.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer once said, “Carpe Diem. Seize the day, ’cause tomorrow, you might be dead.” Life is short but in no way limited. What would you want to do before it’s too late?

Leave a Reply

